The Tank House

The archaeological site contains the Tank house and underground tunnels.

The Gallery Showcasing 1800-1900 glass-making

The Tank House was built in 1887 by William Windle Pilkington.  It started as a passion to make glass night and day with a continuous furnace. Working with Siemens, Pilkington eventually perfected the technique and the making of plate glass was revolutionised here in this very building.